About a Burning Heart

I woke up at 4:30 this morning. No, this is not my usual wake up time and I was not particularly happy about it. But God had something to say and his Word takes greater precedence in my life than sleep.

You see, our hearts must always be awake to God’s Word. The bride from Song of Songs understood this when she said, “I slept, but my heart was awake within me.” When the Lover of our souls comes knocking we must always wake up to let him in, no matter the inconvenience to ourselves.

Friends, I am after God. I am after a radiant and burning heart that is able to authentically articulate the heart of God to the world around me. I want to walk with God deeply, be filled with His love fully and live His life so radically that death, darkness and despair can find no place in me. I want to be the blazing torch that heralds the dawn.

Perhaps this sounds melodramatic, a little too over the top. I don’t think so. God once asked a man to kill his only son, He is just asking me to wake up so that I can be with Him. When put in that light, losing a couple hours of sleep is a petty thing. Will today suck? From a physical standpoint, yes. But I trust that two hours spent with God is better than two hours of sleep. I trust that God will see me through and that I will be better for having obeyed.

The road to a burning heart is open to all, you just have to go through a little door called “hunger.” Hunger is God’s greatest gift to His children. Hunger is a holy dissatisfaction with the things of this world, it is an ache for eternity. God will bless you with it if you ask, but once that fire is lit, it is up to you to keep it burning. Hunger changes nothing, it simply creates and environment for change. It is a long obedience that produces what God is looking for – someone who worships in spirit and in truth, with zeal and affection for Him.

My encouragement to you this morning is to go for it. Let God set you ablaze with holy love, don’t just enjoy the warmth of other people’s fire. If you do that for too long you risk mistaking their zeal for your own. God’s grace be with you.

Leave a Reply

