Champagne for the Soul

Amy and I are working independently through a devotional called “Champagne for the Soul: A 90 Day Experiment in Joy.” It is awesome (and I have only been reading it two days.) I thought I would share a reflection from my first day. The following is an excerpt from my journal (one of the most indispensable tools for maturing as a Christian, next to the Bible).

Like a seed pressed into soil, so is joy in the human heart. Joy must take root in darkness and pain, sorrow and suffering if it is to ever burst forth into glorious day. The dazzling bouquet of joy, which so entrances the eyes, cannot be separated from the muck and mire of life in this present evil age. I it is, then, as flower cut to decorate a table slowly fade and shrivel, so too, joy will become a pale facade, a vague facsimile lacking in substance and depth.

To be joyful in this world is an act of defiance akin to mutiny. With so many good reasons to be depressed, committing ourselves to a life of joy is wildly inappropriate. The idea is that, in order to be realistic, one must be well versed in the plights of mankind and equally sober spirited. But I say, in order to be Real, we must be like Jesus who, “for the joy set before Him endured the cross, scorning it’s shame.”

To enter into our Master’s happiness is our great goal. For if we will share with Him in the fellowship of His suffering, then we will somehow attain to the Resurrection Life that cannot be dimmed or destroyed. Then we will find our minds renewed and our lives transformed until we are like Him in every way.

What do you think? How does living a life of “wildly inappropriate” joy strike your heart?

5 thoughts on “Champagne for the Soul”

  1. Ben, it strikes me as wildly appropriate! What is our greatest reality? That we are children of the King! We are heirs of righteousness. Nothing in all of creation can separate us from the love of our Father.
    That’s what I find so truthful and encouraging about 2 Cor. 4:16-18. “Therefore, we do not lose heart.though outwardly we are wasting away [one temporary reality], yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day [a second reality that trumps the first reality]. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that outshines them all. Therefore,

    1. “… we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on WHAT IS UNSEEN [which is the greatest reality], since what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”

      Woo-hoo! When I align my heart and mind with God’s reality, joy seems appropriate. And when I focus on my comparatively light and absolutely momentary troubles–which is absolutely where my flesh and the enemy of my soul want me to focus–I lose sight of the unseen, don’t I?

      Can we live life as a community where we incessantly remind each other to live lives of wildly inappropriate joy? I think we can. We should. Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

