Two Questions

I have recently been reflecting on two questions and have asked many people in my life (including my church family) to do the same. I think prayerful reflection on these questions will provide unique clarity to our gifts and callings. While they may initially seem difficult to answer, asking the Holy Spirit to speak to us generally removes any road blocks. So, what are these questions?

1) What energizes you?
2) What breaks your heart?

If you have not yet taken time to ask the Holy Spirit to help you answer these questions, please do so now. Journal your answers.

I first heard these questions from my wife, Dani, who, in turn had gotten them from a book “Help for the Fractured Soul.” The author gave the following reasoning for these questions. ‘I have found that what energizes people is directly related to their gifts and what breaks people’s hearts is directly related to their destiny’ (paraphrased).

In my own experience with answering these questions, I found those reasons to be accurate. I’m energized and enlivened by bible study, prayer and teaching small group bible studies. I also love being outside and talking with close friends about life around a campfire or over hard cider. Obviously, teaching and pastoring are two of my gifts. But I also like cooking and buying people presents. They may not be “official” gifts, but they give life to me and others, so I will keep on doing them.

The second question is much more difficult to answer. The answers, therefore, are much more personal and much more powerful. The answers to this question touch the core of who God made us to be. Make every effort you can, given your season of life, to line up with the answer to this question. Being who God made you to be, boldly displaying His image within you – that is powerful stuff and a key, I think, to living with no regrets. Spend yourself in a worthy cause, the cause God made you for.

I hope you benefit from this exercise as much as I did. The clarity these questions bring to life is unique and make a way to live with full potency and vigor under the leadership of the Spirit. If you are willing, I would love for you to leave your answers to these questions in a comment below. I will be praying for you in your quest to line up with God’s vision for your life. Amen.

2 thoughts on “Two Questions”

  1. This is one of the coolest things I’ve heard! 🙂
    I wrote down the answers, and I’ll show you B-Dau! I wanna hear more about this book and your guys’ thoughts on it. Intriguing!

  2. Huh, these answers are at least true of me right now. Some days it seems to be different things that energize/break my heart.

    Energize:
    Bible study with others.
    Being with people.
    Youth.
    Worship in music.
    Live broadcast and thinking on my feet.

    Breaks my heart:
    Girls/women that don’t value themselves.
    Christians that spread hate of the Church.

Leave a Reply

