Pain Will Not Define Us

We’re 22 hours into our 24 hour prayer watch for Bev. I’m sitting at church listening to Rend Collective Experiment’s “The Art of Celebration.” One phrase in particular stuck out to me in the first song – “pain will not define us”.

Pain will not define us. No matter what happens to Beverly, pain will not discolor our view of life or of God. Pain is not the final word.

We are a people of joy, a people of prayer. We are a people with Resurrection Fire burning in our hearts. We are the Light standing in defiance to the darkness of despair. We are more than conquerors through the Risen Son of God. We will not bow to the inferior power of death.

“Take heart, I have overcome the world,” Jesus says. “I am the Resurrection and the Life. Whoever believes in me will live, even though they die.”

Though we mourn at death, we don’t mourn as those who have no hope. Death is never the end for the people of God. Death is our final rebirth into the Kingdom.

I am still believing for a miracle for Bev. And I’ll continue to believe and hope and fight and pray until The Lord tells me otherwise.

I’m thankful for you, church. I’m thankful that all through the night the Saints were praying. I’m thankful that we are a people of prayer, a people that contend for those we love, a people that believe God still works miracles. Well done friends.

Leave a Reply

