(Re)Digging Wells

My passion in life is to pursue what is available of the Kingdom of God in this Age, even to pursue some things that shouldn’t be available in this Age. I want to be a ladder, a conduit for perpetual intercourse between Heaven to earth. I want to live in the land promised to us in the Scriptures.

I want to live out the commands of Jesus in their fullness. I want to feed the hungry, heal the sick, clothe the naked, raise the dead and set people free from demonic oppression. I want to see the exclusive claims of the Gospel confirmed by none other than God Himself. I want to participate in a move of God that will rock the very foundations of this world. I want to shake everything that can be shaken so that the Unshakable Kingdom remains. This is why I contend for healing and write about revival.

I’ve been asked several times recently, ‘how do you continue to have faith to pray for people to be healed when so many people haven’t gotten better, even died?’

My usual response is “I can’t NOT pray. It is who I am.” While that is the truth, it is only a partial truth. I do get discouraged. I question and I doubt. I get mad that my prayers seem to be little more than good intentions. But one story continues to give me hope. It is what I turn to and trust in when all seems lost and I just want to quit. It is the story of Isaac in Genesis 26.

Abraham has died and Isaac has assumed leadership of the family. A famine breaks out, but The Lord commands Isaac to stay in the land. Isaac’s faithfulness is rewarded and he becomes enormously wealthy, so wealthy that his neighbors become jealous. In an attempt to get Isaac to go away, the Philistines fill in the wells that Abraham had dug with dirt. The Philistines used this method to reclaim some land and force Isaac to move his herds to where there was water.

Isaac moves a short distance away and reopens the wells his father had dug. Then he goes on to dig new wells. He becomes so prosperous, so favored, that his enemies actually come to make peace with him.

I love that story. I love that Isaac chooses to stay in a famished land when everyone else wants to leave. I love that when the enemy dries up the wells that water his flock, Isaac (He Laughs) stays put and patiently digs out the wells again. Then, when the wells are once again nourishing the flocks, Isaac is able to dig more wells, become more established, so much so that his enemies can’t deny the hand of The Lord on his life.

Many times I feel as though I am re-digging the wells of my fathers, particularly with healing. I think to myself, “I know there is water here, but all I see is dirt!” So I keep shoveling, down and down through the dust and the dirt and the failure. I want much more than a healing anointing – I want a healing well. I want something that is going to nourish the Flock for generations.

Early on in my pastoral career The Lord told me I was called to exchange my reputation for credibility. I was called to be a forerunner of certain truths – healing, revival and the return of Jesus. Until those things happen, I’m going to sound like a nut to a lot of people. That is OK, because when those things happen I will be in the position to pastor those who previously saw me as an enemy.

So, this is how I encourage myself in The Lord, particularly in regards to healing. I revisit my prophetic history, I find my identity in the stories of Scripture, I focus on what God has done and is doing rather than what He isn’t and I continue to move dirt.

It is a humbling thing to dig a well of revival in a dry and barren land. It requires walking in faith and hope and not by sight or experience. And yet, when the healing water, the Living Water, begins to flow it will be so much fun to see the thirsty come and drink. That hope is what keeps me praying.

Ben, the Laugher

Leave a Reply

