What I Meant to Say: Mother’s Day

Yesterday was a fun day – I’m glad we got to celebrate the women of our congregation the way that we did. You’re all wonderful!

A brief recap of yesterday’s message:

* It wasn’t an accident that God chose Mother’s Day, 1979 to birth a new move of the Spirit that we now call the Vineyard. God’s Spirit is attractive and tremendously effective at bringing people to Christ, but God wants to make sure these converts are brought into a family, not left as orphans with an instruction manual.

* Women carry the Presence of God in a special way. We see that with Mary, the mother of Jesus, and in Mary Magdalene, the first witness to the resurrection. Women are an essential part of God’s plan to “be fruitful and multiply, fill the earth and subdue it.” And they aren’t relegated to “just” the multiply part. 🙂

* We saw that, at the end of his life, Paul’s primary concern was for his spiritual son to grow, mature and step into his calling. For all the work Paul did, all the churches he planted and letters he wrote, when push came to shove, Timothy was forefront on his mind. I think that is a tremendously powerful lesson. Are we taking our role as spiritual Fathers and Mothers seriously and pouring into the next generation? If not, we may need to rethink our priorities.

* We have amazing women in our congregation. I took the time to honor a few by name, but that list wasn’t exhaustive by any means. I’m really thankful to have such wonderful women in my life – thank you for being who you are, you inspire me to be more than I am.

I realize I didn’t say that as concisely yesterday as I did here, but this is what I meant to say. I think you guys are great. I love being your pastor!

Happy (belated) Mother’s Day to you all!

Ben

Leave a Reply

